About the Digital Accessibility Committee

Digital Accessibility Committee and Mission

The University of Illinois at Chicago  Digital Accessibility Committee oversees the policy and procedures relating to accessibility of online information. This committee supports the campus in the process of advancing Web accessibility through:

  • coordinating training and assistance with Web accessibility
  • providing accessibility assessment tools
  • providing reports and recommendations on how campus webmasters can improve their sites to meet current best practices and established accessibility guidelines
  • developing policies to make online information more accessible and usable
  • assisting webmasters by providing clear campus guidelines on how to improve accessibility
  • helping the campus prioritize efforts in creating new websites and modifying older websites.

The Digital Accessibility Committee is dedicated to the long term effort of improving the accessibility of our campus websites, but will need the active cooperation and efforts of campus webmasters for accessibility to be implemented at UIC.

Resource and Site Checks

The Digital Accessibility Committee is available to support campus webmasters. For more information and help with checking a site for accessibility, contact the committee.

Digital Accessibility Commitee Members

George M. Blackwell
IT Technical Associate
Office of Student Systems Services

Edward Campbell
Assistant Director, Creative Services

Jessica Eisenbeis
Assistant Program Director for Online Programs
UIC Extended Campus Administration

Debra Hale
Associate Director
Office of Digital Communications

Raymond Matthes
Director of Engineering Media Services
College of Engineering

Michael Michela
Instructional Development Specialist
College of Business Administration – Deans Office

Kavita Mundle
Clinical Associate Professor & Electronic Resources Librarian
University Library

Daniel Paz-Horta
IT Technical Associate – Web Developer
Academic and Enrollment Services Information Technology
Office of the Vice Provost for Academic and Enrollment Services

Kurt Okimoto
Web Specialist
Office of Public and Government Affairs

Scott Rozman
Information Technology Manager / Administrative Coordinator
Administration, LAS